Anglesey Coastal – Round 5(22 Aug 21) Race Report

Round five of the Gaz 116 Trophy took us to the picturesque Anglesey Circuit in North Wales.

A wet but quickly drying circuit welcomed the teams to qualifying. A typical wet to dry session meant the times continued tumbling for the whole session and seemingly the last to cross the line would be the quickest.

In typical form, the 777 of Sam Yates took pole position. Number 75 of Lewis Tindall and Anthony Seddon secured P2. Third was claimed by Peter & Harry Ormerod and Tim crighton. 4th went to Seybold, Palmer and Patten. Row 3 was occupied by Rob Carvell with Shane and Andrew Roe on the outside. Row 4 had the number 80 of Theo Millward & Chris Bayliss on the inside with Ian Carvell in p8.

With the sun out and the circuit dry, the cars set off towards the first corner in grid order. As the field bunched together at Rocket, Seybold, blocked by Tindall, bumped Ormerod sending him into a half spin. Whilst this saved Tindall who scampered away in second, Ormerod dropped down the order, Carvell pounced into 3rd with Seybold in 4th and Roe 5th. This battle raged over the next few laps, allowing Yates and Tindall to escape.

With an hours racing complete the safety car was scrambled to allow recovery of the number 75 and 1 machines after an unfortunate incident at Rocket.

After just 3 laps the field was released for the final portion of the race. Yates had a commanding lead. Ian and Rob Carvell had battled the whole race and were now second and third.  Richard Lakey in his best showing to date was 4th with Chris Noakes 5th.

One of the movers of the race had to be number 16 of Omar Mahmood, Harry Portlick and Roger Taylor. Who raced from 14th on the grid to a credible 8th place.

Chris Noakes was awarded driver of the day after a spin on lap one left him in last place, he can through the field to a stellar 5th position.

The next round sees the 116 Trophy teams head south to the prestigious Brands Hatch on the Indy circuit.